Senator Lorraine R. Inouye represents Hawaii's 4th District on Hawai‘i Island. An experienced legislator, she formerly served in the Hawai‘i State Senate for ten years from 1998-2008. Additionally, Senator Inouye was Hawaii County Mayor from 1990-1992 and was elected to the Hawai‘i County Council from 1984-1990. For the 2019 Legislative Session, Senator Inouye was appointed Majority Whip. She also sits as the Chair of the Senate Transportation Committee (TRS), and is a member of Energy, Economic Development and Tourism (EET); Government Operations (GVO); and Ways and Means (WAM) committees.